Cardio (Sweatastic)

Nothing but a Treadmill

Have you ever found yourself stuck in a situation where the only workout device accessible to you was a treadmill? Either because you were traveling- and, let’s be honest, a treadmill is usually the only worthwhile machine in a hotel gym- or because a treadmill is all you have at home and the cold rain outside is intentionally mocking you and slowly eating away at your workout motivation?

Conquering the monotonous machine...

Conquering the monotonous machine…

Well, I have. And there is almost never a time when all I feel like doing is running on a treadmill. So I took the opportunity to come up with a creative and fun treadmill workout.

There’s a new exercise I learned a few months ago on the treadmill, which I LOVE. It deserves honorable mention and explanation here so that when you get to it in the workout, you’ll know what to do. Basically, you’re going to be running on the treadmill with the machine turned off. This gives you a ton of resistance, so you have to use your arms for support and run at about a 45 degree angle on the machine.

It's a bit difficult to see, but keep both hands on the treadmill with elbows bent and try to run with the machine off. It's really intense cardio and also great for your legs!

It’s a bit difficult to see, but keep both hands on the treadmill with elbows bent and try to run with the machine off. It’s really intense cardio and also great for your legs!

For descriptions of the other treadmill moves, you can refer to my post on creative treadmill exercises:

Here is the complete workout:
Treadmill Workout

It’s a solid total body workout that focuses primarily on cardiovascular endurance. I definitely broke a sweat!

Post treadmill workout smiles

Post treadmill workout smiles

What do you think about treadmills? Love? Hate? Frenemies?

As an unrelated life-update-side-note, I survived my week of night float on surgery! I don’t think I truly understood the meaning of sheer exhaustion until this week. I probably slept about 1.5-2 hours each night and then 5 hours during the day. Luckily, I had one of my closest friends Jack to make me laugh whenever the sleeplessness got to me. And- exhaustion aside- I learned a TON and got to be very actively involved in patient care. For those reasons alone I thought the week was completely worth it…and I’d do it again! It really reaffirmed my decision to go into medicine and reminded me of the reasons why I love what I do 🙂

Clearly we had to document our journey this week. Got through it with laughter, support, and staying positive!

Clearly we had to document our journey this week. Got through it with laughter, support, and staying positive!

Hope everyone is enjoying the weekend!

4 thoughts on “Nothing but a Treadmill

  1. Treadmills bore me to death. But…the gym has child care. And my messed up hips mean that running on anything other than a very even surface leads to injury. So it’s a necessary evil. So I’ve come up with a long list of various treadmill workouts that keep things fresh interesting. Lots of intervals so that I’m chaining it up every couple of minutes to keep from getting too bored. I alternate between HIIT and longer LT endurance training.

Leave a Reply

