My Life (sometimes I need to share)

5 years together, 4 apartments, 3 cities, 2 cats, and 1 year until I get MARRIED!!!

Maybe it’s just me, but I’ve never been the girl who always dreamed of what it would be like to get engaged. I never truly anticipated or imagined what the moment would feel like. Perhaps it’s because I really did want to be surprised, and so I pushed the thoughts out of my mind intentionally knowing it would be worthwhile not to think about it. It’s strange, really, that I didn’t have some Pinterest board planning every moment or some guidelines of what I felt should be included in the day because I’m such.a.planner. But I have to say there is no comparable feeling to being that surprised by something so wonderful and life changing. For this reason I felt it worth sharing with all of you.

In retrospect I should’ve anticipated a proposal: it was my birthday after all! But I think Ted did a great job convincing me he wasn’t ready yet by continuing to make causal comments hinting at the fact that he hadn’t had time to plan (yes, I believed him, because he does have a last minute way of doing things).ย  We’d spent a beautiful afternoon at my parents house enjoying lunch from my favorite place in Larchmont: Stanz. This was complete with delicious miniature cupcakes of all flavor varieties. Unbeknownst to me, Ted spoke separately to my parents to tell them he’d be proposing to me later that night. It’s probably a good thing he waited until we were about to leave because I think my mom might’ve struggled to contain her excitement.

We had dinner reservations that evening at WD50, a restaurant we’d been looking forward to trying since our Top Chef TV binge phase introduced us to molecular gastronomist Wylie Dufresne. It’s not everyday you get to enjoy a top tier 15 course tasting menu created by a celebrity chef! Needless to say I was SO excited for all the fabulous food that was about to fill my belly.

WD50 menu

Our meal; in my attempt to successfully transport it, I managed to create one million folds in the paper, sorry!

My favorites were: the oyster, avocado pea soup, and all three desserts. The entire meal was heaven.

Somehow this was the only picture I managed to get of our food. But every dish looked like a work of art.

Verbena mousse, Rhubarb, Buckwheat, Camelina Oil. Somehow this was the only picture I managed to get of our food. But every dish looked like a work of art!

Somewhere around course 5, Ted asked if I wanted to order a bottle of wine. Being the practical person I am, I told him we should just wait and get drinks somewhere else after dinner to avoid paying exorbitant wine bottle prices. Ted suggested (acting as though he’d just thought of the idea) that we grab some beer from home and take our drinks up to our roof deck, which has a full view of most of Manhattan. It was obviously a perfectly brilliant idea so I immediately agreed.

After dinner, Ted suggested we take a cab home. This surprised me because normally we avoid taking cabs anywhere (why take a cab when the subway is so much less expensive and also a perfectly acceptable mode of transportation?). But I figured he was just feeling fancy because we were celebrating my birthday and we rarely spring for extravagant nights.

Has anyone ever paid attention to what’s on the radio inside a New York City taxi? Usually it’s annoying commercials or weather forecasts. Sometimes it’s old school rap music or whatever is on Z100. Not this cab! This cab was playing intense classical music. The kind you hear in the background of epic movies like Lord of the Rings. We seized this opportunity and turned it into a game; we proceeded to create our own stories based on what was happening in the music. The best way to describe it? Magical. We laughed and loved and got lost in our imaginations.

We were home within 15-20 minutes. I quickly changed out of my gorgeous cream colored dress into Lululemon workout pants, a jacket, and Ugg clogs (clearly, I was still oblivious). We poured our beers into glasses and took the elevator up to our roof.

view

This is the approximate view from our apartment. Disclaimer: I didn’t take the picture! The iphone isn’t as good at capturing night shots.

Every time I step out onto that deck I become re-enamored with where I live, and this time was no exception. The city lights never cease to be breathtaking, and I just felt so lucky. We placed our drinks on the table and walked up to the ledge to admire the view. Ted started to tell me about how happy he was that he’d moved to New York to be with me. (keep in mind that I’m still completely clueless…I happen to be with a man who tells me he loves me and he thinks I’m beautiful every day, so this didn’t seem out of the ordinary). He talked about remembering the first time we traveled around the city together, meeting my friends and family, knowing that I was the right person for him. He started telling me that he would follow me anywhere in the world because I was the most important person in his life; anywhere I went, he’d be there for me. (I’m still oblivious, believe it or not, which is why I think I was able to remember everything he said to me with such clarity). Then he told me he couldn’t wait to explore the world with me and that we had the rest of our lives to do it. At this point he was reaching into his jacket pocket– and it was then, and only then that I realized what was happening. He got down on one knee and asked me to marry him! I had this immediate rush of fluttery heart pounding happiness that I’ve really never experienced before. It was a whirlwind of shock, reflection, disbelief and belief at the same time. I was so surprised and speechless that it probably took at least 10 seconds before I actually said yes!

And, of course, I needed to include a picture of my ring!

And, of course, I needed to include a picture of my ring! The picture doesn’t even do it justice! It’s absolutely perfect. I knew I wanted a non-traditional yellow diamond and Ted did an amazing job having it made for me ๐Ÿ™‚

The very next day we left for a 5 day trip to Savannah! It was an added bonus that we got to celebrate being newly engaged with a week off from life responsibilities.

Excited in Savannah! I think this was our only picture together the entire trip.

Excited in Savannah! I think this was our only picture together the entire trip.

And, finally, excitedly sharing our news!

And, finally, excitedly sharing our news!

And that’s my story! Personal, special, and best of all….a HUGE surprise!

 

 

13 thoughts on “5 years together, 4 apartments, 3 cities, 2 cats, and 1 year until I get MARRIED!!!

  1. Pingback: Food, Fitness, Weddings | Tori Teaches Fitness

  2. Congrats! Looooove the bling! Enjoy engaged life because it goes by so fast…but don’t worry, married life is even better!!

Leave a Reply

