Recipes (Eat well)

Cardamom Butternut Bisque a.k.a bliss

I love making soups- really I do.  Aside from the fact that chopping up a squash is the bane of my existence, I ultimately find it’s worth it. Ever since my grandma got me an immersion blender last Christmas, my soups have been out.of.control. (Thanks, grandma!). If you are debating whether or not an immersion blender is worth it- it is. Just go by one. My soups are SO much creamier!

Anyhow, last night I had a bit of time to work on the perfect soup. I’m very self critical of what I make, and always strive to get it just right. Yesterday just felt like a good day- I started working out in the mornings (5am again- rough) but am getting used to it. Today I even ran to the gym! It feels great to have a workout checked off my list.

Being that it was a good day, I ventured into soups. And, I have to say, it was delicious! So creamy with a hint of sweet and just perfect for fall. I’d definitely recommend it and will certainly be making it again!

Cardamom butternut bisque

Cardamom Butternut Bisque

– 2 lb butternut squash, peeled and cubed

– 1 fuji apple, peeled and cored

– 7.5 oz (1/2 can) full fat coconut milk

– 2 cups Seafood broth (trust me on this)

– 1 small onion, finely chopped

– 1 tsp cinnamon

– 1/2 tsp cardamom

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1 tablespoon coconut oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place cubed butternut squash pieces on a cookie tray with a bit of cooking spray. Cook for 40 minutes.

In a large pot, melt coconut oil over medium heat. Add onion and stir until soft and translucent. Add the cooked butternut squash and apple. Saute for 5 or so minutes. Add the seafood broth and bring to a boil. Lower to medium-low heat and cover for 20 minutes.

Blend what’s in your pot with an immersion blender. Then add coconut milk and spices and blend again until smooth and creamy. Simmer covered for another 5 minutes.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Cardamom Butternut Bisque a.k.a bliss

  1. I hate chopping and peeling squash too. Next time (since you’re roasting it anyway), just slice it in half and scoop out the seeds. Brush it with olive oil and put it skin side up on a baking sheet and roast in the oven for about 45 minutes, or until tender (you should be able to easily poke through the skin with a fork). Let it cool, then just scoop the flesh out of the skin with a spoon and put it in the soup pot. SO MUCH EASIER than all that chopping and peeling and it doesn’t leave your hands feeling icky afterwards 🙂

    • You should be able to find it in most grocery stores- that’s where I got mine. You can make it yourself if you like, and many swear by it, but it takes a long time and then you need to invest in a bunch of shellfish to make it. It’s usually in the same section as chicken/beef/veg broths. I’ve used it twice in soups now and loved it!

Leave a Reply

