Recipes (Eat well)

Creamy Pumpkin Oats with Whipped Banana

Every so often, I hit a rut in my cooking routine. After making Protein pumpkin breakfast cakes and smoothies all year, I was in need of a new breakfast! Because of the changing weather and my deep seeded love for all things pumpkin, I decided to try and create a delicious creamy pumpkin oatmeal. 

creamy pumpkin oats 1

And it worked! This was really filling, and still gave me the energy I needed for my bootcamp class yesterday. It’s perfect for a hearty weekend breakfast on a brisk fall day. 

Creamy Pumpkin Oats with Whipped Banana

  • 1/2 cup Oats

  • 1 cup Vanilla Almond Milk

  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree (store bought or homemade)

  • 1 banana

  • 1 splenda (or Stevia)

  • 1 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice

  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon

  • 1 tablespoon Almond Butter (optional)

  • Toppings: Chopped dates, Walnuts, and a touch of Agave or Maple Syrup

    Combine oats, milk, pumpkin, splenda, and spices in a pot and warm over medium heat, stirring occasionally. Place whole banana in the microwave for about a minute and a half. Remove and immediately mash into a paste. Once oats have thickened, lower heat and stir in banana mash along with the almond butter. Remove from pot and use your favorite toppings- mine are listed above. 

    creamy pumpkin oats 2

    It’s so tasty and satisfying!!

    What’s your favorite fall breakfast?

4 thoughts on “Creamy Pumpkin Oats with Whipped Banana

  1. Two words… cacao nibs. Just started adding them to my oats this week. They get a little melty, but still retain their crunch and add a deep coffee/chocolate flavor without adding sweetness. I’m sure that they’re going to be delicious with the pumpkin AND banana flavors in this!

  2. I make a mega batch of baked oatmeal every weekend to feed my family for the week. I switch of the flavors a bit depending on which fruit is in season. Peaches and berries in the summer, apples and pears in the fall and winter. I’ve done a pumpkin spice version as well, but I’m not a huge pumpkin fan so it’s not in the regular rotation. Crockpot steel cut oats are another favorite, but the left overs don’t reheat as well, so that’s usually saved when we have overnight guests and I want everyone to start the day with a yummy healthy breakfast.

Leave a Reply

