Recipes (Eat well)

Black Bean Salad with Roasted Red Peppers and Avocado

I’m not much of a food blogger. Or a food photographer. I’d really like to be- on the inside I have this desire to create beautiful food and flaunt it all over the internet. And, while I think I come up with good ideas, they always come out looking….well…..hideous. I’m not kidding. When I take a picture of a plate of food that I’ve made it looks sad- what’s worse? It looks like something almost nobody would want to eat.

Anyhow, my solution thus far has been to find pictures via google images that accurately represent the food I’ve made. Sometimes it’s tricky. But here’s today’s recipe:

Pretty, huh?

I swear this is almost exactly what my salad looked like. Except my plates aren’t as fresh looking and neither is my cilantro. What I can promise is that this was delicious! I’m convinced it’s one of the tastiest things I’ve ever made- and it only took about 8 minutes to do. So now when I get home from school all worn out and tired, it won’t take too much effort to throw this together.

Black Bean Salad with Roasted Red Peppers and Avocado

Makes 2 large servings

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 avocado

2 large roasted red peppers (mine were in water from a jar from the grocery store)

1 tablespoon freshly chopped cilantro

1-2 tablespoons crumbled goat cheese

1/2 tablespoon or less olive oil

1/2 teaspoon cumin powder

1/2 teaspoon mexican chili powder

salt, to taste

Place rinsed black beans in a large bowl and add olive oil, cumin, chili powder, and salt. Mix well. Slice the avocado into small chunks and finely chop your roasted red pepper and add those. Mix again. Lastly, add goat cheese and cilantro and stir. Voila! You’re done. I ate mine with an egg over easy on top and it was DIVINE.

2 thoughts on “Black Bean Salad with Roasted Red Peppers and Avocado

Leave a Reply

