Recipes (Eat well)

Protein Packed Blueberry Banana Oats

A very long time ago Andrea over at A Doctor in the House, posted ideas for oatmeal recipes with eggs. After a few failed attempts and many variations, this morning I created my perfect version. And I just had to share.

I’m a big proponent of the whole “low carb” thing. I definitely have to eat some kind of carbohydrate every day or I get too dizzy and tired, but eventually found a way to fit the low carb lifestyle into something that worked for me. It’s rare that carbs are a part of breakfast, but occasionally they make their way in.

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I could seriously eat breakfast for every meal. Lately, I’d been getting bored of my usuals and have been making an effort to come up with some new and exciting meals. This one was heaven!! And, rather than being a full cup of microwaved boring oats- it’s only a quarter cup and still as voluminous as ever! The egg makes the portion 3 times as large. So a big thank you and shout out to Andrea for the idea 🙂

Protein Packed Blueberry Banana Oats

1/4 cup oats

1 splenda or stevia

1/2 teaspoon baking spice (cinnamon works)

1 egg

1/2-1 tablespoon organic peanut butter

dash of vanilla almond milk

dried blueberries

banana sliced

1/2 tablespoon walnuts

Place 1/4 cup of oats in a bowl and just barely fill with water until the oats are just submerged. Microwave for 1 minute. Stir in egg, sugar, and spice and microwave another minute and 30 seconds. Add a splash of vanilla almond milk and stir until it is the consistency you’d like it to be. Stir in the peanut butter and then top with the remaining ingredients. You won’t be disappointed!

2 thoughts on “Protein Packed Blueberry Banana Oats

Leave a Reply

