Recipes (Eat well)

Month of March Healthy Meal Plan Challenge

This past week was particularly hectic for me. Between boatloads of school work I also had rehearsals and performances for both the Vagina Monologues and our schools talent show. (For those of you who don’t know, I used to be a huge theater nerd!). Because of my busy days, late nights, and full 12 hour days at school, my diet suffered along with my gym schedule. The result? I’m getting sick, feeling very blah, and simultaneously unmotivated.

But I channeled these feelings into a great idea. I realized that a huge part of this weeks downfall was a lack of planning; in fact, I think that my lack of meal planning since starting medical school has made decision making and eating well more difficult for myself. By the time I get home during the week I’m exhausted and have MORE studying to do- and who wants to think about what to make for dinner on top of that?? Let alone meal planning for more than one person, particularly when your tastes differ.

This issue is definitely not unique. Anyone with a busy life and hectic schedule can easily let meal planning, diet, and exercise fall by the way side. Even friends from school have asked me about short, easy, healthy meals to eat throughout the week. And I’m totally on that page- I need to be better about planning.

Planning is daunting, because it does take some extra time. This task becomes less daunting, however, when you pick a day or time where you can spare an extra hour or two for thinking, food shopping, and possibly some prep. This is my new goal for March: a Healthy Meal Plan Challenge.

What does this mean, exactly? Every weekend I’m going to plan my dinners for the remainder of the week. Most recipes I pick will be quick and easy, and I’ll schedule more involved dinners for nights that I know I’ll have the time. (And, by the way, I always have dinner leftovers for lunch- so this kills two birds with one stone). Who’s with me??

Feel free to leave comments with suggestions for easy healthy meals or ways to stick to a schedule. At the end of March we can see how we did!

Week of March 3rd:

Sunday, 3/3/13: Chipotle Pineapple Pulled Chicken and Cilantro Broccoli Slaw

Monday, 3/4/13: Chicken and Avocado Salad (sub Greek yogurt for mayo) and Arugula salad with dried cranberries and goat cheese

Tuesday, 3/5/13: Bean Salad (lamb chops or steak for the boyfriend)

Wednesday, 3/6/13: Salmon Nicoise Salad (light on dressing)

Thursday, 3/7/13: Rosemary Sriracha Chicken Thighs and  Roasted Cauliflower with Tahini sauce

Friday, 3/8/13: Italian “Bacon” Chicken Meatballs with Spaghetti Squash Pasta (meatballs can be prepped a day ahead)

Saturday, 3/9/13: Savory Fish Cakes (recipe forthcoming)

 

Off to Bootcamp! Happy Sunday!

7 thoughts on “Month of March Healthy Meal Plan Challenge

  1. Oh my I’m so glad I only cook for one! Haha

    I’m really stoked on Eat Live Run’s recipe list right now. http://www.eatliverun.com/recipes/

    Going to make her Greek Chickpea Pasta Salad tonight! I always make a giant portion and then eat it for lunch for the rest of the week. But then again I only eat one bowl at a time. 🙂

    Good luck meal planning!

    • Haha yes- things never last a whole week let alone a day in this apartment! Also, Ted needs some kind of meat or he won’t be satisfied/full. I find vegetarian things much easier to put together, but they are a rarity.

  2. I can eat soup anytime.
    How about. Healthy vegetable soup.with a little pasta in there.
    I like to add hot sauce to my bowl.with the tomato base
    The hot sauce hits the spot.good for you too in many ways.

    In these cold winter months it warms you up
    And satisfying.

  3. What about healthy soup? In the cold winter months I can eat soup any time. Quick and filling too.

    Sent from my iPad

  4. This is the only reason that I actually eat during the week! I usually pick Saturday or Sunday to make a boatload of staples, like pasta/rice/chicken/meat for the week and then have a bunch of combinations waiting in my fridge to add to whatever I want to eat that morning. If you have all of your sauces/beans/veggies/chicken already pre-cut in tupperware it’s basically just a matter of assembling it in the morning before you leave. The permutations are endless! I like this more than “planning” all of my meals for the week because sometimes I just don’t feel like eating what was planned that morning and then I don’t look forward to what I’m eating.

    Plus portion control is easy and you don’t find yourself ravenously searching for Chinese food/free lunches on campus and eat 33 pieces of free pizza just because it’s there haha

    • I agree!! The times that I don’t want what I’ve scheduled, I just switch it with something else.
      Part of the problem is that Ted and I don’t eat pasta- we do very low carb. Also, anything that goes in the fridge doesn’t last long enough for the whole week! Seeing as Ted eats about a pound of meat a night…ha! It’s a great idea though- and that’s what inspired my bean salad 🙂

Leave a Reply

