Weekly Workout Series

Weekly Workout Series: Energize and Stretch

Though I’m ashamed to admit it, I frequently push things like “warm up,” “cool down,” and “stretch” to the back burner when my time is limited. I have this irrational voice in the back of my head telling me it’s not the best way to maximize my workout time. And yet, I know full well how truly important these things are. Future me will thank present me for doing more of it.

Without appropriate warm up/cool down, your muscles don’t have time to ease in to the exercise. Did you know that shin splints typically stem from inadequate warm ups? I didn’t! Also, stretching regularly can prevent joint/muscle/bone problems from developing when you’re older. The immediate benefits? increased flexibility and energy. For all the good I know it does, I consistently shock myself with my inability to just do it.

I’ve been doing Yoga pretty consistently about once a week since moving to New York (with the exception of one or two in the middle). I now consider it almost essential; I never realize how necessary it is until I go. And this isn’t because it’s Yoga per say, but because it gives me a chance to stretch out, loosen up, and move. It’s inspired me to come up with some more “energizing” workouts that are focused on lengthening and stretching your muscles. It’s also what inspired this weeks workout series: Energize and stretch.

The first workout really does give you energy! The second is more of a challenge, but the third will be a well deserved stretch. I definitely recommend doing them in this order. Happy Monday!

4 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Series: Energize and Stretch

  1. I love this post because I can totally relate to it – my rational self knows that stretching is an important workout element, but there is this little voice in the back of my mind saying “do it when you have the time – you can always stretch later!” So making time for it, just like the rest of your workout, is what you should do – now if only I could be as regular as you!

    Great video series, too!

Leave a Reply

