My Life (sometimes I need to share) / Recipes (Eat well)

Something to Celebrate: Creamy Cake Batter Milkshake

This morning I’m celebrating a few things. Traditionally, celebrations involve cake.

But I’m not really a traditional kind of gal.

SO, I created my own Creamy Cake Batter Milkshake! It’s oh so good. After seeing several versions of cake batter smoothies popping up all over the internet, I decided to make one myself; a healthy one, that is!

Back to the celebration part.

We signed a lease on an apartment!! After all the turmoil of dealing with salesy lying brokers and really disappointing apartments, we finally found one we can (and will) call home. It’s right in the heart of a new up and coming area of Astoria, Queens, full of fun restaurants and bars, grocery stores, bodegas, and practically anything you could need. We’re also close to the subway, just 10 minutes from Manhattan and 1 mile from a park. Our place is small, but we have a lovely kitchen with plenty of cabinets and counter space (=win in NY).

We don’t get to move in until Monday at the earliest and I start school Friday (eek! also, 40 minute commute). So it will take a while to get settled in. But I’m so excited for this new chapter of my life that’s finally coming together.

Oh, and I’m likely going to purchase my first new car this week! I’ve test driven a few and will hopefully have a decision made soon 🙂 I’m such an adult these days. Weird.

Creamy Cake Batter Milkshake

 

1 frozen banana*

1 cup milk (I used half vanilla almond milk and half regular)

1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

1 tablespoon sugar free vanilla instant pudding mix

1/2 tsp butter extract

1 packet sweetener (I used Splenda, but Stevia also works)

Mix all ingredients in a high speed blender or food processor. Top with sprinkles if you like and enjoy!

*This will add a slight banana flavor to your shake. If you’re sensitive to this (i.e- don’t want any banana in your vanilla cake batter) you can sub in a handful of ice cubes with a 1/2 tsp of Xantham Gum. This will thicken it and still make it cold and milkshakey. I chose not to do this because I personally don’t like the way milkshakes/smoothies taste when ice cubes are used. If you have other substitution ideas let me know!

4 thoughts on “Something to Celebrate: Creamy Cake Batter Milkshake

  1. Pingback: Protein Packed Pumpkin Pie Milkshake | Tori Teaches Fitness

  2. Pingback: Bootcamp Round Seven | Tori Teaches Fitness

  3. Hi tori – congrats on getting settled in NYC. I continue to enjoy your site and posts. They finally found a good replacement for you at Powerhouse. We still miss you though. Johnny has been killing us with killler new moves as well. Will u be teaching there? Probably no time I’m sure. I’m going to try this smoothie next. If the dr thing doesnt work out you may want to think about food scientist :))

    • Haha, yes- alternate career choices 🙂

      Glad to hear you have good instructors kicking your butts! As much as I would love to continue teaching here, I don’t think I’ll really have the time. It’s possible though! I may do some short classes for my school, but I’m not even sure yet if that’s feasible. I’m going to see how things go and how I’m able to balance everything before adding more to my plate.

Leave a Reply

