Recipes (Eat well)

Spinach Feta Turkey Burgers

Happy Weekend everyone!

Despite being insanely busy with apartment hunting (don’t even get me started on how hard this is in NY), I’ve had time to cook for my entire family most of this week. I’ve been eating extra healthy (which tends to happen when I have a lot going on in my life).

I’m getting down to the wire now, and medical school starts in just under 2 weeks. I realize that suddenly my free time is going to plummet and it’s going to be much more difficult to manage healthy eating, exercise, this blog, AND spending time with my wonderful boyfriend. Not to mention other friends and family. But I’m keeping a positive attitude, and am confident in my ability to multitask and prioritize.

Anyho, I’ve been searching for good recipes that I can either a.) prepare in advance or b.) freeze. This way, I can do a lot of meal prep on the weekends and have healthy food to eat throughout the week. It was in this mind set that I came across these Spinach Feta Turkey Burgers from Green Lite Bites.

Admittedly, I worried about the lack of seasoning in her recipe, and took matters into my own hands for modifications. Additionally, I tripled the recipe so that I could feed five people, have leftovers, and also have a few to freeze for later. Cooking in bulk works well, but can often be difficult to manage when you don’t have the right sized bowl.

And let me tell you, these were delicious!! Flavorful AND healthy. I served mine with a really yummy Greek yogurt based Tzatziki from Costco, but you can use any kind or make your own yogurt sauce.

Spinach Feta Turkey Burgers (recipe makes about 24-28 burgers)

3 lbs ground turkey meat

30-35 oz frozen spinach (I used two 16 oz bags)

2 1/2 cups Old Fashioned Oats

4 whole eggs

1 1/2 cups crumbled feta cheese

4 teaspoons Greek or Turkish Seasoning (I used Penzeys)

salt and pepper, to taste

Tzatziki, to serve with

Thaw frozen spinach. You can place it in hot water to defrost quickly, then drain well in a colander. Try to squeeze as much water out as possible.

Add spinach to a LARGE bowl with the remaining ingredients (Except tzatziki). Note: you may need to split this into 2 bowls to fit it all. Work ingredients together with your hands, and form into patties.

Heat as many pans as possible over the stovetop- about medium to high heat. Cook burgers for about 10 minutes on each side. Depending on your stove, it may take longer for them to cook through. Make sure you can no longer see any pink meat around the center. The more pans you use, the more burgers you can cook at one time.

Serve with tzatziki. These did not need any buns!

 

One thought on “Spinach Feta Turkey Burgers

Leave a Reply

