Recipes (Eat well)

Lavender Lemonade

I am a huge fan of lavender. I love it in my food, my drinks, and my beauty products. In addition to smelling and tasting amazing, it’s also purple, and I love me some purple!!

Needless to say I was SO excited to see lavender growing everywhere in the state of Washington. It grew in the backyard, along the roads, in others’ gardens- everywhere. And I helped myself to just a few stems and flowers so that I could make something tasty. Ultimately, I landed on lavender lemonade.  Now- there is an argument to be made for the fact that these flowers haven’t been treated the way they should for human consumption blahdy blah. But I figured that because I was boiling the flowers in hot water, that the temperature itself should kill any unwanted bacteria.

My only regret is not making this twice. Now that I’m back in New York, there is no lavender in sight. With apartment hunting in full swing it’s actually been difficult to take the time to make things for myself. The desirable apartments here seem to be gone by the afternoon of the day they were listed :/

Notes on using lavender in cooking:

– When cooking, use 1/3 dried lavender flowers to fresh

– Adding too much lavender to a dish will make it bitter (like perfume) so don’t over do it!

It was tasty, refreshing, and not a huge calorie/sugar hit like many of the store bought lemonades are. Let me know what you think!

Lavender Lemonade

5 Cups Water

1/2 Cup of fresh lavender (I used stems and flowers)

1/4 Cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice

1/4-1/2 Cup Sugar or Sweetener (depending on how much of a sweet tooth you have!)

A few fresh mint sprigs

Bring One cup of water to a boil. Remove from stove top and add the lavender flowers/stems. Let steep for at least 10 minutes. Meanwhile, combine 4 cups of ice cold water with the lemon juice and sugar or sweetener and stir until sugar dissolves. Strain the lavender from the water, and add the lavender water to the rest of the lemonade mixture. Place in a pitcher with some fresh mint sprigs, and put in the fridge for at least a few hours.

One thought on “Lavender Lemonade

Leave a Reply

