Full Body (fat blast)

Killer Cardio/Strength Hybrid Workout

Remember how I told you I needed a really tough workout to bounce back from my indulgent weekend?

Well, this probably went above and beyond. I think it’s one of the toughest workouts I’ve done in a while. Like…dripping sweat kinda serious business.

I woke up yesterday and decided I needed something crazy. I didn’t want to go to the gym. I didn’t want to wait until the afternoon. I woke up, made a green monster s’mores smoothie (P.S- I can’t even describe how delicious this was!) and hit the internet in search of workout ideas.

I came up with a hybrid workout: something from Pinterest, a workout from BodyRock, and a bit of Pure Barre inspired toning- each with my own twist. Now, I’ve kind of been in protest of the whole BodyRock thing because- well- they aren’t exactly “appropriate” in their videos. Sure, their workouts are tough, but the videos force you to look…like up their butts- or into their sports bras. It’s scandalous. I really hate it.

BUT, most of their workouts you can do without the video, and that’s exactly what I did. I have picture instructions below, but also provide the link if it’s too difficult to follow with words and pictures alone.

This workout will seriously kick your ass. You’ll be tired and sweaty after part I and then crazy dripping maximum sweat after part II. Part III is still tough but there’s no cardio so it should slow you down a bit. I’m definitely sore from it today. I recommend blasting the most intense/crazy workout music you have (I listened to Porter Robinson Radio on Pandora). And keep moving!

There is a summary picture at the very bottom if you want to skip all of the instructions- but it’s difficult to understand what the exercises in parts II and III are without them.

Part I- Repeat 3 Times

30 Jumping Jacks

5 Pushups (full body)

25 Knee highs (on each side)

7 Burpees

30 Crunches (I hold my crunch half way and slow pulse 30 times)

10 Squats (on rounds 2 and 3 add a rubber ball in between the thighs and squeeze in as you come out of your squat)

5 Pushups

30 Crunches

5 Pushups

10 Squats

30 Crunches

30 Jumping Jacks

1 Minute Wall Sit (on rounds 2 and 3 come up onto really high tippy toes for your wall sit)

5 Pushups

25 Knee Highs (on each side)

Part II- Repeat 4 Times: complete each move for 50 seconds then take 10 seconds of rest. Here is the video if you want a visual- they do slightly different things with the middle two exercises. 

Squat Jump, Elbow to knee jump touch (alternating sides)- repeat 50 seconds

10 Mountain climbers, 1 reverse Burpee – repeat 50 seconds

(when you’re done with the mountain climbers, you’ll be in plank. To reverse the burpee, jump both feet into your hands, then reach the arms and jump all the way up so your body is vertical, then sit into a quick squat, place your hands back on the floor and jump back to plank)

Squat and front raise with small rubber ball (squeeze in on the ball with your hands when you come up)

2 elbow half burpee jumps & under touch toe

Part III

20 Leg lifts with pointed toe, 20 with flexed foot- repeat once on each side

20 Leg lifts with pointed toe, 20 with flexed foot each with standing leg on tippy toes- repeat once on each side

Pulse the top leg 20 times to lift

Bent knee full body dips- 2 Minutes, 30 second pulse

Hip raises- 2 Minutes

90 second plank (30 seconds dip hips side to side, 30 seconds press heels back and forward, 30 seconds tap knees to floor down and up)

And there you have it! Here’s the workout in a nutshell. I recommend doing a bit of stretching when you’re done as well.

8 thoughts on “Killer Cardio/Strength Hybrid Workout

  1. Pingback: Weekly Workout Series: Killer Hybrid Workout « Tori Teaches Fitness

    • This was awesome! Unfortunately, I had to avoid some of the exercises due to an injured knee, such as the squatting, and burpees. But, with all that I am able to do, I will definitely make this part of my daily exercise, along with the standing abdominal workout!

  2. Pingback: Sore Butt Sweat Sesh « Tori Teaches Fitness

Leave a Reply

