My Life (sometimes I need to share)

Inspiration

Since I stopped teaching group classes back in May, I’ve had to turn to other options to try and find workout ideas that kept my interest. Though I could do my own classes all by my lonesome, it really didn’t have the same momentum and energy as it would with a class behind me. Sometimes, finding inspiration for new ideas can be both difficult and discouraging.

Luckily, between gyms in New York, Seattle, and LA as well as some additional classes in Core Power Yoga, Sculpt Yoga, and Pure Barre I’ve been neck deep in new ideas and inspiring workouts. I have to say, being in a large room (or outdoors, for that matter) with a bunch of other people all in their own zone doing their own workout is quite inspiring. You can look to these strangers for new ideas, admire their form, and allow them to push you to keep moving. I love feeding off of others’ energy- it’s really quite something.

But, as I get lost in finding inspiration around me, I frequently forget that sometimes others find inspiration in me. This is, oddly enough, a strange concept to me. I don’t realize how much of an effect I have on others until I’m told. And then I’m always surprised…but also flattered!!

I was nominated over at Strong, Fit, Beautiful for the Very inspirational blogger Award. She, like me, is also a group fitness instructor and shares her thoughts and ideas along with info about her classes in the DC area.

This award requires a few things:

  1. Display the award logo somewhere on the blog.
  2. Link back to the blog of the person who nominated you.
  3. State 7 things about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award and provide links to their blogs.
  5. Notify those bloggers that they have been nominated and of the award’s requirements.

I don’t typically share all that much about me on this blog, and part of that is because I don’t really love talking about myself. But here goes!

 

 

1.) I am half Dutch.

 

 

2.) I won a musical theater award in high school (yes, I am technically a “triple threat”).

 

 

 

3.) I get terrible motion sickness, which dates back to a trip in San Francisco when I was less than 1 year old.

 

 

 

 

4.) My favorite movie is Big Fish.

 

 

 

 

5.) I’m a huge bargain shopper, with the exception of Lululemon.

 

 

 

6.) Music from Owl City can completely turn my mood around and make me smile.

 

 

 

7.) If I could be any animal, I’d be a dolphin.

 

 

Inspirational Blog Roll

HEALTH AND FITNESS

KK Training Systems

Blog Info: Really great detailed information about exercise health. Also has some circuit workouts and suggestions.

How its inspired me: Kunda has inspired me to provide more detailed explanations about how our bodies respond to food and exercise. His blog has also brought me to try exercises that are challenging and out of my comfort zone (clap push ups, for example!).

Fitness & Feta 

Blog Info: An example of how fitness is a lifestyle. Playlist ideas, workout routines, and lots of great pictures!

How its inspired me: Athena has made me think more about sharing music and switching up my playlist ideas. I haven’t quite implemented this on my blog yet, but it’s a work in progress.

A Doctor in the House

Blog Info: A medical student shares her balance between work, a healthy diet, and exercise. Provides recipes and workout info along with a few science/medical stories along the way.

How its inspired me: Andrea is the blogger I connect the most with, because I feel I am most like her (medical school, fitness, food…you probably get it). Her blog has really reassured me that I will be able to maintain the balance in my life once I start school (because, if I’m being honest, it’s something I worry about a lot)!

Smiley’s Healthy Way of Life

Blog Info: Smiley and Mrs. Jones’ quest to lose weight in a healthy way.

How its inspired me: They have reminded me to stay determined and to never lose sight of my goals.

Joy Fitness & Style

Blog Info: Fitness ideas and style tips.

How its inspired me: Joy has great ideas about how to make exercise fun and social. She also suggests creative ways to celebrate the holidays and stay active with your family. She reminds me that it’s important to spend time with others and have fun!

Proactive Outside

Blog Info: All sorts of outdoor activities and scenery around the US.

How its inspired me: Bob’s blog makes me want to go outside right now and climb a mountain. Seriously.

Fit Body Now

Blog Info: A lot of tips about running and healthy food ideas.

How its inspired me: Katherine reminds me that there are always ways to improve form and alignment while exercising, particularly with running.

LIFE

Girl Gone West

Blog Info: Girl quits her job, moves to the West, finds employment, an apartment, and a boyfriend, and marvels at the wonders of the mountains.

How its inspired me: Pamela is my best friend in the entire world. She is the definition of inspiration to me. She is thoughtful, intuitive, and beautiful inside and out!

FOOD

Cara’s Cravings

Blog Info: Amazing healthy recipes that are full of flavor.

How its inspired me: Cara renewed my interest in cooking after I was in a funk of “same ole’ same ole'” recipes. Her ideas are innovative, creative, and tasty! She also got me interested in gluten free cooking/baking.

Chocolate Covered Katie

Blog Info: Healthy vegan dessert blog with tasty alternative ingredients.

How its inspired me: Katie was the first person to introduce me to ideas like using chickpeas and black beans in baking. Her recipes and diet were novelties to me, and have helped me explore new culinary possibilities.

What inspires you?

7 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Congrats on your nomination, dear! That’s totally rad! You are such an inspiration to so many people, and I’m so lucky to have you as a best friend.
    I’ll definitely blog about this, thanks for giving me something to talk about. 🙂

  2. Thank you so much. You are awesome for this nomination. As bloggers we all should stick together and inspire each other to keep going and move forward with whatever it is we are doing. Inspire others is my goal. With this I have confidence that I can. You are an awesome blogger as well. Thanks again.
    -Smiley

  3. You have totally made my day!!! Im at the hospital now but will post about this tomorrow!! Thank you so much for the blog love- you are SUCH an inspiration!!!

Leave a Reply

