Recipes (Eat well)

Vanilla Blueberry Almond Overnight Oats

Another snazzy breakfast I picked up in Denver was what my friend Pamela called Overnight Oats. My first thought was, “what? cold oatmeal? in yogurt? ummm…” But, obviously, I’ve learned first and foremost never to doubt my best friend and additionally to trust in the healthy food blogging community as a whole.  After seeing this kind of thing appear on Pintrest, I decided to give my own version a try.

I guess the first thing I’ll say about this is that, while it’s good, it’s not really that special. I say this because when I made it, I was expecting some brand new never before tasted breakfast (like the protein pumpkin breakfast cake).  The reality is that this tastes, very logically, like a cross between greek yogurt and oatmeal. This isn’t a bad thing, since the texture is delightful, it’s just not completely new. What makes this better than a simple bowl of oatmeal, however, is that it has half the carbs and far more protein. And, if it wasn’t obvious, I love me some protein!! Naturally, part of what makes my recipe different from all the others is the addition of protein powder. Feel free to omit this if you don’t have it- not including it shouldn’t detract from the flavor at all.

Also, for anyone who has trouble making time for breakfast in the morning, this is a great recipe for you. Breakfast gets made the night before, and it’s ready to grab-n’-go in the morning. Served cold.

Vanilla Blueberry Almond Overnight Oats

  • 1/4 cup Old Fashioned Rolled Oats (I used whole grain)
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt (I wouldn’t sub regular- Greek is thicker and has higher protein content)
  • 1/3 cup Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tablespoon Vanilla Protein Powder
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon Chia Seeds
  • 1-2 tablespoons Dried Blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon Sliced Almonds
  • option: 1/4 cup or less of additional fresh fruit (I used mango, but would also recommend banana or fresh blueberries)

In a bowl, throughly mix together the first 4 ingredients. Once combined, add vanilla protein powder and mix again. Carefully stir in the chia seeds, dried blueberries, almonds, and fresh fruit. Cover your bowl with plastic wrap or transfer oat mixture to tubber ware and place in the fridge overnight. Breakfast can be served the minute you wake up!

 

*If you have a big sweet tooth, you may want to add some sweetener, sugar, or honey.

6 thoughts on “Vanilla Blueberry Almond Overnight Oats

  1. You are so good at doing fancy breakfast things. I suck in the morning, I can barely pour milk into my cold grainy cereal. My fanciest weekday venture is quick-cooking oatmeal with a ground flax “garnish”. When you move to Astoria, I’m hopping on your breakfast train.

    • Haha, well I’m always motivated to have good breakfast because it’s my favorite meal of all time. But you’re more than welcome to join in when I move to your neck of the woods 🙂

  2. You’re so sweet to call me out in your posts. It makes me feel so special! So glad I can inspire YOU, someone who has a passion for food that more than rivals my own. I miss you, come back!!!!

  3. This looks like a fun little recipe. I tried to eat oatmeal the other day for breakfast (not typical for me) and it was so boring and blah so I may try this! Also love that you can make it the night before.

    Yay Denver! 🙂

Leave a Reply

