Recipes (Eat well)

Sweet Mango Quinoa Porridge (High fiber, dairy free, and gluten free)

Today is my birthday…I am officially a quarter of a century old (Practically a sage, if you ask me). Many might think today should be a day filled with rest and relaxation- not so.

My best friend, Pamela, introduced me to my absolute new favorite breakfast and simultaneously re-excited me about including carbs in my mornings (sparingly, of course). I doubted wether I’d actually like this quinoa porridge, because… well, I didn’t like quinoa. But, I trust Pamela wholeheartedly, and since we both love all of the same things, I decided to give this a try.

And I was NOT disappointed!

This recipe is great because it’s high in fiber and good fats, and will also keep you full for most of the morning. Typically, carb-y breakfasts tend to leave me feeling hungry about an hour or two later, but this one succeeded to keep me satiated. It turns out that quinoa is actually a seed and not a grain, and is also related to spinach (say whaaaaaa?!).

Quinoa is higher in fiber, calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, potassium, iron, copper, manganese, and zinc than other grains. This means it is packed with nutrients that help prevent diabetes, breast cancer, and clogged arteries (atherosclerosis).

Also, I added chia seeds to this, which make it even tastier and healthier! Chia seeds have a TON of health benefits, which include weight loss, increased energy, and decreased food cravings, to name a few.

Basically, there is no reason NOT to eat this. Like, now.

With all that being said, this recipe was modified from Joy the Baker. I scaled down her portions to size for one, cooked it a bit differently, and also added chia seeds. I’ve experimented with a few different fruits and nuts as well, but the original is best. The photo below is also from Joy’s site, and it’s really her genius that brought this to life. My version is not as milky since I chose to cook the quinoa in the milk rather than adding it at the end. Definitely check out Joy’s site for lots of other delicious recipes!

Sweet Quinoa Porridge

  • 1/4 cup Quinoa
  • 1/2 cup Vanilla almond milk
  • 1-1.5 tablespoons unsweetened coconut
  • 1-1.5 tablespoons sliced almonds (hazelnuts work well also)
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 a mango, cut into chunks
  • 1 teaspoon chia seeds
  • optional: 1/2 banana, cut into small pieces

Bring vanilla almond milk to boil in a saucepan (this should only take a minute or two because the amount is so small). Reduce heat to simmer and add quinoa. Cover and simmer for 12 minutes.

Meanwhile, place coconut and sliced almonds on a small tray in a toaster oven to brown slightly (set on toast, medium heat, for about 5 minutes). Keep an eye on it to make sure it doesn’t burn.

Once quinoa is done cooking, remove from heat (most of the milk should be absorbed). Add applesauce, toasted coconut and sliced almonds, applesauce, chia seeds, and mango. (If you like, you can add other fruits and/or nuts- see my suggestions above). Mix everything together and enjoy!

 

One thought on “Sweet Mango Quinoa Porridge (High fiber, dairy free, and gluten free)

  1. So glad you like it so much! I feel honored that my humble breakfast was so inspiring to you. 🙂

    Happy birthday!!!!

    I miss you already!!!!

Leave a Reply

