Recipes (Eat well)

Carrot Cake Breakfast Smoothie (Gluten Free and Dairy Free)

Okay, so I don’t usually post recipes that aren’t entirely mine, but this deserves some praise.

I made the Carrot Cake Breakfast Smoothie this morning. The recipe comes from a professional photographer, Mary, whose blog is full of herbal concoctions and beautiful photos (including the one above).

Now, I’m a huge fan of smoothies for breakfast. Part of the problem, however, is making one that will keep me full through the morning (particularly on mornings that involve intense exercise). This one did not disappoint!

What could be better than having a well balanced healthy breakfast complete with vegetables, nut butter, and fruit while tasting like dessert?? Nothing! I think next time I make this I’ll have to make sure the carrots are a bit softer to get a better texture.

I added about a half scoop of vanilla protein powder to make it a bit cake-ier, sweeter, and protein-ier. I also cut 1 tablespoon of the almond butter, to lower some of the fat (though it is good fat). Visit Mary’s Site (linked above) for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

