Recipes (Eat well)

Lemon Infused Tilapia with Artichokes and Fennel

I have to say, when I first decided to try this recipe I was a bit apprehensive; I worried that it wouldn’t have enough flavor. Because I was cooking for a mini dinner party with my friends Erin and Molly, I wanted to make sure it tasted good. So I took a risk and modified this recipe from Martha Stewart to be my own.

And, let me tell you, it came out fabulously. It was incredibly flavorful and light, and left all of us completely satisfied. I cannot vouch for the original, but I can assure you that this version was perfect.

Lemon Infused Tilapia with Artichokes and Fennel (serves 4)

4 lemons
1/2 small jar of artichokes in water, drained (about 3 oz total)
1/2 medium onion, sliced into half moon pieces
1 small fennel bulb, trimmed, halved crosswise, and cut into 1/4-inch-thick strips (about 1 cup)
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
coarse sea salt and ground pepper
24 oz of tilapia filets
olive oil

1.) Cut 1 lemon in half, and squeeze into a bowl of cold water; add the rinds to the water. Squeeze 1/2 cup juice from 2 lemons; set juice and rinds aside. Cut the remaining lemon lengthwise into 1/4-inch-thick slices, and set aside.

2.) Add artichoke pieces from jar into the lemon water (you can cut some of them to be a bit smaller if you think they’re too big). Let sit about 5-10 minutes. While you’re waiting, you can chop the onion and fennel. Salt and pepper both sides of the tilapia filets.

3.) Put onion, fennel, coriander, onion powder, reserved lemon juice and slices, 1/4 cup water, and a touch of olive oil into a large saute pan. Drain artichokes from lemon water, and add to pan; stir. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and add tilapia filets. Cook about 4-6 minutes on each side (time will vary depending on your stove top).

Note: the picture above is halibut, but I chose tilapia because it is much cheaper

3 thoughts on “Lemon Infused Tilapia with Artichokes and Fennel

Leave a Reply

