Arms (ByeBye Batwings) / Videos (Workout with me)

Sculpted Shoulders

For the last few months, I’ve been teaching a class at Washington University called Beach Body Bootcamp. Each week we focused on a different primary muscle group and alternated it with cardio intervals. As part of the appeal, Martha, the fitness director, came up with some snazzy names. Sculpted Shoulders was one of them. I plan on reconstructing some of these classes in 10 minute quick versions, titled with each corresponding name. I came up with my routines from a few different sources, and much of them stem from my own ideas.

I guess I’m usually pretty serious business when I teach. I’d like to think it’s because my classes are so hard.

In any case, take a look at my picture above. The most important concept behind these shoulder exercises is to keep the proper alignment. Here, my hand is in line with my shoulder. With almost any shoulder/chest/back exercises, you typically want to make sure you start and/or end with your hand or elbow in line with your shoulder to ensure you are doing things properly. This might vary a bit depending on the individual exercise, but is a general rule and true of almost everything I do in this video.

On a completely different note, the process of constructing this blog has had a bit of a learning curve for me. You see, I’m not a “techie” person…believe it or not. Back in high school, I’d always run down the hall to ask my brother for help with all of my computer related problems. Now, unfortunately, he lives about 2,000 miles away.

SO, I noticed that my YouTube videos haven’t had very good resolution. The videos look much better on my computer than they do for anyone on the internet. I’m somewhat of a perfectionist, so I investigated why this might be. To spare you the boring details, it turns out that there are some encoding problems from iMovie (the program I use) to YouTube. I found some instructions to export the video to Quicktime first (in it’s original size- 853 x 480) and then upload from there. It unfortunately turns out that this process takes ten hours. But the video quality is a lot better. I definitely think it’s worthwhile to have the better quality, but I’m wondering if there is a faster way to do this? If anyone out there has ideas, let me know!

4 thoughts on “Sculpted Shoulders

  1. Just wanted to say you inspired me with your heavy weights post. I’ve been using measly 2 pounders in class, thinking I don’t want to get too jacked and even 2 pounds feel pretty hefty with lots of reps, but you motivated me to step my game up… today I used the 3 pound weights! Still not much, I know, but I’m working my way up. Baby steps 🙂

    • haha that’s awesome! Yes, I agree on 2 lbs feeling hefty sometimes ESPECIALLY in core fusion. Some of the girls in my core class use 5 lbs when I tell them they’re better off with 2-3- somehow they pull through it

      But I’m glad! I do think there is a lot to be said for doing less reps with heavier weights sometimes, and that doesn’t mean getting bulky. Hurray for variation and changes 🙂

Leave a Reply

