Abs (Pooch be gone) / Videos (Workout with me)

Abs Challenge Level One

To complement the plyo video, I’m starting off the day with some abs.

Now I’ll warn you, these abdominal exercises are not for the faint hearted. Just because they are level one, does not make them any less difficult! I actually really swear by this ab workout- it is truly the best thing you can do for your waistline. Subsequent levels will incorporate weights, resistance bands, and elevated legs, but this is a great place to start. The most important thing here is that you have the proper form. Though I explain this in the video, I’m going to give you a few pictures to make it really clear.

You start down on your forearms with elbows under shoulders and knees bent. Before you do anything, you want to make sure your lower back is pressed into the floor and your abdominals are pulled in. Think about a slight pelvic tilt upward.

When you’re ready, you let go and grab onto your outer thighs. The key here is to make sure you stay right where you were on your forearms. Think about keeping your entire body in the same place except for the arms. Once you are holding on, make sure your elbows are wide and slightly bent. Notice, the bottom part of my lower back is still pressing into the floor.

Lastly, you can let go of your thighs. Make sure you don’t come down too low or up too high. If you cannot hold your position with both arms extended, then hold on to the outer thigh with one hand.

Typically, I teach these exercises in core fusion, but I’ve included them here with some upbeat music to keep you going. The original version of this comes from Fred DeVito and Elizabeth Halfpapp.

Feel free to do this video more than once- you’ll really feel sore the next day.

14 thoughts on “Abs Challenge Level One

  1. Tori, I am having a lot of trouble with this video. The problem is not with my abs hurting the problem is with in the sacral area of my back. That part of my back taking the pressure against a yoga mat is unbearable. I have also tried a heavy blanket under me for more cushion but that does not help either. Am I doing this exercise wrong or do you have any suggestions for me?

    • Hm, I’m not really sure; if the cushion doesn’t help then I’d worry that you might have something going on with your sacrum. Have you had this problem before? I’d suggest asking a physician or physical therapist about it since it could be a mechanical issue.
      For now, I’d recommend you not do the exercises that really hurt like that. My standing abs videos are great for low back/sacral pain since they don’t involve being on the floor.

  2. My feet tend to keep drifting up off the floor while I’m doing this. (Maybe I have REALLY weak abs or something?) Any tips on what I can do to make them stay on the ground?

    • Try placing something above your feet or wedging them under something; if you have a couch or bed or another piece of furniture close to the floor you can just prop your feet under that. Also, some people place dumbbells over their feet, but I find that they tend to fall off. Hopefully that does the trick!

    • You can really move up a level at any time. In fact, there are still days where I come back to level 1! The main thing is that you get the technique down (which is explained most fully in level one). Once you feel like you can really hold the position well, then feel free to jump to levels 2-4.

      • Oh okay thank you!! My goal is to do level one for two weeks and so on to level 4. Is it realistic to expect big results in two months timing?

      • sure it is! the only thing to keep in mind is that diet is very important- as long as you eat pretty healthy and fit in some cardio, I don’t see why you wouldn’t notice a change in 2 months 🙂

  3. Wow! Thanks for the detailed description about NOT moving when you go from forearms to holding the back of thighs…really makes sense, and really makes it harder!!

  4. Pingback: Abs Challenge Level Four « Tori Teaches Fitness

Leave a Reply

